Westside Skydivers

Testimonials


Many more like these on Westside's Facebook page

         " I jumped on January 3rd and just wanted to say thank you to the entire team for such a wonderful experience. I was given the jump as a Christmas present from my friend that also jumped. I must admit that I was not too sure that I really wanted to jump out of plane when I got out of bed on Thursday. Eadie was my instructor and he checked and rechecked my harness, he reviewed everything with me including the landing more than once and he made me feel very comfortable jumping out of a plane. You guys rock! Thanks again, Jeanna"

“These guys/gals were super professional and fun! (Not only did I have a good time, but I felt about as safe as you can jumping out of a plane =) ) I had a great time and look forward to doing it again soon!”

January 12, 2014

“Enjoyed our experience. Very nice people and very professional. Would definitely go back.”

January 03, 2014

“Fantastic instructors! Felt confident we were going to live :) best adventure ever!!!”

December 31, 2013

“It was amazing! The staff and the entire experience was incredible. Cannot wait to go again”

December 29, 2013

“It was a great experience! The people were awesome and so nice”

December 28, 2013

“The staff at Westside were terrific. Very polite and competent and Fun. Very good at calming our nerves.”

December 23, 2013

“Great crew at Westside!”

December 10, 2013

“Phil is a veteran skydiver and an amazing Instructor. He is very agile, enthusiastic and patient with first-timers. I would definitely go again.”

December 01, 2013

“The people there are awesome and they make sure you have a great time! I had an awesome time. I plan go back sometime in the near future.”

December 01, 2013

“Great staff, amazing experience”

December 01, 2013

“The guys are good and professional.”

November 30, 2013

“West side skydive is a professional company, staffs are friendly,experience w them are awesome!”

November 17, 2013

“Wonderful business. Great place. My husband is hooked. He can't wait to go back and skydive again. Alex was an amazing instructor.”

November 16, 2013

“The staff was friendly and made what could have been a terrifying experience a lot of fun! I enjoyed the Nate Show.”

November 15, 2013

“Great Staff!!!!!!!!!!!”

November 15, 2013

“We all had fun. The group at Westside made the experience even better.”

November 10, 2013

“Great people. Omar is a very good instructor.”

November 03, 2013

“Keep up the good work!”

November 03, 2013

“You guys at Westside skydivers made this scary, awesome experience more comfortable with jokes and reassurance. Thank you for a lifetime memory.”

November 02, 2013

“Absolutely amazing!! Awesome staff very knowledgeable and just awesome!!! “

October 20, 2013

“Amazing experience and friendly staff!!!”

October 18, 2013

“I am definitely coming back here if I am ever brave enough to jump again! Nick was fun to have as an instructor, and everyone was very welcoming. Great experience!!”

October 13, 2013

“Awesome experience. I wanted something special for my husband's 40th birthday. Definitely got it.”

October 13, 2013

“Had a great time. Everyone was friendly and helpful.”

October 13, 2013

 “Best Day EVER!! Staff was totally professional, yet laid back. Took the anxiety out of doing the jump. Would jump again, What I meant to say was, WILL jump again!”

October 13, 2013

“Thanks Westside Skydivers for another great experience! The Groupons really do help with being able to make this a more affordable hobby!”

October 13, 2013

 “Westside Skydivers were fantastic and I look forward to returning! I'll recommend them to all of my friends.”

October 09, 2013

 “The staff was amazing and I had a great experience! We already bought our second tandem jump!”

October 09, 2013

 

 "I did my 1st jump with Rockow 5-18-12   and it was amazing!!  I had no doubts at all about my safety with him and all the staff I saw was very professional and put my friend and I at ease.  It was the best experience of my life thanks to all of you.  You give me job envy!  Thank you for doing what you do and I will be back this summer for jump #2! ~ Nicole

 

I just wanted to drop you a quick note to say thank you!  I came out last Saturday fully intending to just watch some friends jump and ended up doing the "Intro to Skydiving."  I had a blast!  Jarred was fantastic about answering my questions while we were flying.  It was quite an experience - one that I won't ever forget, thanks to Jarred - and I didn't even jump!

Thank you so much for the experience.  If I can ever find enough courage to actually jump, I will most definitely call you.   ~Shelley

 

Joe -

I just wanted to send a quick note to let you know that my first jump (Aug. 7), was the best experience of my life! The laid-back atmosphere at the hangar kept me from getting too uptight while waiting four hours for the clouds to break. I was paired with Nick Rockow, and I know I'm not the most conversational person, and I didn't say much when we landed, but please pass on my thanks to Nick for making my first jump so incredible!!

And thank you, Joe, for opening Westside Skydivers in Winsted. I still can't believe I finally got the opportunity to do this. I'm already thinking about the next time....Beth

Wowser what a blast. To Westside I say THANKS for the thrill of a lifetime. I buddy-jumped with Joe and what a professional guy. He made me feel so at ease and walked me thru the entire process. Why did I wait so long to do this? I will be back....I think I could be a Skydive junky. The free fall the under canopy ride and the views are fantastic....and the smooth landing. Plus it all is on a DVD for you to share with family and friends. I encourage everyone to do this. What a thrill for my 73rd birthday.....many many thanks.

Thomas

You folks provided our Grand-son, Matt Cooper, with an experience which will last a life time. Thanks very much for a lasting and profession-al experience.

-M.

Hi Joe-

I know that my brother David just wrote you a note, but I wanted to send you one myself also. Words cannot express what an amazing experience my siblings and I had with you. I spent the night with Kathie on the day that we jumped and we looked at the video about 5 times - seemed like it energized her every time she watched it. I feel that in my heart, this is going to give her an "extended" lease on living. She really needed something positive and this experience was truly that!! I will going to spend a week with her in July (i am the only sibling who has not been able to do that yet because I was living so far away - in cali). She is talking about taking jump #2 while I am there with her. I will do everything that I can to make that happen and am hoping to possibly join her once again. Time and resources will tell if we can make it happen.

Either way, I just wanted to say thank you again from the bottom of my heart. Both for my experience and for what this entire experience did for our family. Kathie would never have done this without you being the man that you are and sharing with her. You have a wonderful group there and please extend a thank you to all of them also. I hope to see you again sometime in July but if I don't, I will never erase your face from my mind - after seeing the video only about 12 times now!! Take care, Sandy

Joe,

Just got back to St. Louis late last night, and I wanted to follow up with you regarding Friday's jump.

My sister Kathie has been energized and has a renewed vigor for life that I directly attribute to the jump! She has watched the video multiple times on a daily basis, has shown it to many people, and can't stop thinking and talking about it! The family members that were against it prior to her jump have come around as well, and one of them is actually considering jumping in September with her son!! Kathie wants to go again, too; and my sister Sandy, who jumped on Friday with Rockow, is going to be staying with Kathie for a week in July, and they are talking about going back to see you guys then, finances pending...

Anyway, I just wanted to let you know that the day couldn't have worked out better with her decision, the weather clearing and being able to go to 13 thousand ft, as well as the family support... we ALL had a great experience, and I know she was supposed to go all along - there was clearly some additional guidance beyond any of us... Many thanks to the whole gang, but in particular Joel, Rockow, DJ (please thank him again for me - a great guy to jump with) and especially YOU for your humor, guidance, and most important, EMOTIONAL SUPPORT and ENCOURAGEMENT! Kathie is confidant she will live longer than any of the Doctors have predicted and I know jumping (and perhaps even the hope of future jumps) is a big reason for her current renewal of hope!

David

Hi Joe,

I wanted to send a thank you to you for the great experience this past Friday when you took Jeff and Garrett diving! We received the DVD's yesterday and they were great! I was pleasantly surprised at the music added too! Great job! The guys were so surprised and they really enjoyed the day. You made it a lot of fun for us so thank you for that! This was probably the best gift I could have given these two guys who've wanted to do this for so many years. And, with the DVD they can relive it again and again.

Thanks so much for making time for us and giving us an experience of a lifetime! You guys rock! - Tracy

Hey Jumpin' Joe,
Thanks so much for helping me with skydiving today. You did a great instructor. I can tell that you did a great job working with disabilities, especially Blind. We did great communicating after we jumped. I had blast time with skydiving today, especially great weather and my birthday =-) Thanks for giving me a great birthday gift - a free video/picture. I will keep in touch with you soon - Barry

Thanks for the jump! I had a great time. Sorry for whoever lost the bet on if I’d get sick or not! Actually I’m not that sorry, that’s a horrible bet! I don’t know if I will jump again because of the motion sickness, but I’ll definitely come watch my sister do it again! She’s pumped! I think I’ll just stick to rock climbing…. Thanks again for the fun time! - Alicia

Thanks for the great memories from our jump on Tuesday. Several facebook friends say they want to do it. I'll try to get a group together and see you again soon. - Tom

Hi Joe, Hodgie and crew! I just wanted to say THANK YOU for the amazing experience yesterday!
It was so much more than I could have ever imagined! The only thing better would have been if my daughters could have been there to experience it with me! Thank you for being so interested in our experience and for making it so meaningful! It meant a lot to me that you wanted to share in my experience with the special letter I brought along on the jump! :) I think what you and your crew are doing is something so powerful and spiritual! Thank you for bringing this opportunity to all of us who have had the honor of jumping with you! Not only are you obviously gifted, but you are extremely humble as well. For that Tom, Shelley and I thank you! You all made us feel so comfortable, like this wasn't our first jump and not at all afraid! (Even when you and Hodgie told Shelley and I you were not going to be attached to us until after we jumped... hehe...very funny!)
Anyway... We WILL be back and we cannot wait!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!! =) Blessings and smiles - Bridget

Thank you for such a GREAT time skydiving. You took my girlfriend and me up for our first jump and we were thrilled when it was over. Your staff offered complete training and were a lot of fun to talk with; taking the nerve out of our fears. We really enjoyed the experience from The ride up to 10,000 feet all the way to the ride down from 10,000 feet. I will never forget what the bottom side of a plane looks like at 10,000 feet! Thank you for such a great experience and We will be back! - Cameron

My favorite part of the jump was freefall. There's no other feeling like it! I am going to jump again, I can't wait. I have already recommended Westside Skydivers. Thank you for such a phenomenal experience. Joe and DJ were awesome and made the jump especially fun. Thank you soooo much - Christine

Hi Joe!! Thank you so much for the awe inspiring jump yesterday. I dreamt about flying all night and can't wait to do it again. All of my employees had a great time and will remember this forever. I posted your link on the Birchwood Electric Facebook page and I hope it gets you more customers. I wish you the best on the growth of your business.

Thanks again - Rachel

Joe, Letting you know how much I enjoyed "my jump" on Sunday, August 8th.

I had always said that if I got the chance to skydive that I would do it. Well, I got the chance, and I did. I'm so glad I did.

My only other experience with skydiving was when my son went in CA a few years ago. I got to ride in the co-pilot's seat. That was fun too.

That place was huge and moved people through like cattle. Yours was quite a contrast. I so appreciated the personal welcoming feeling, from your "front desk girl" to everyone I came in contact with. Your passion and enthusiasm for jumping, and wanting to share that with everyone is obvious and touching.

I looked at you website and saw the news about your father. Our great nephew (2 and 1/2 years old) has neuroblastoma and has had "angels" in many forms fundraising and helping out. What a great gesture on your part.

Thank you for a wonderful experience. Wishing you and Westside Skydivers a long, healthy, and prosperous life.

Sincerely - Becky

Hey! A HUGE Thanks to ALL of you guys! Went jumpin' yesterday with my little bro. My 2nd time and his first. It's like THE most exhilarating, crazy terrifying, completely awesome rush, even serene, experience ever. I can't stop thinking about it. Loved the hell out of it!

Special thanks to DJ, my instructor, you made me laugh my ass off, face my fear. I appreciate it. You guys are just doing something really cool and sharing that gift. It's pretty f'in admirable. Take it easy - Nicole

Thank you! - Jumped last Sunday, wanted to thank you for an awesome experience! Joe, thanks for pulling my chute - I was totally into that freefall! - Julie

Glad this place took off since the west side is so much easier to get to. Great drive out on 7; saw wild turkey, horses, lakes, etc. First time to this DZ and found the staff to be friendly and relaxing. Got in 2 jumps. First thing I noticed was a lot of lakes (you can see Lake MTKA from the plane). The DZ is super easy to spot since Lake Winsted is so big. Didn't have to fight traffic on the way home either. Can't wait to go back in a couple days! - Brian

Just wanted to say THANK YOU for my son's GREAT experience last night!

They were the last jumps last night & have not been able to STOP TALKING about it since then! It's all over their facebook pages & texts!

It was so much more than they ever thought it would be...if only you guys were closer to us...3 hours to travel for 1/2 hrs makes for a tough night but I am sure they will be back sometime this summer & are trying to drag their dad with them!

So again... THANK YOU! - Dolly

I jumped on July 27th with DJ, you guys did a great job. I am happy to have the chance to try something new. ~ Dora Pariseau

"I had so much fun yesterday! Thank you for an amazing experience. I will definitely be jumping again! And hopefully dragging my girl friends along as well." Talla

Lt Governor Carol Molnau jumped with owner of Westside Skydivers Joseph Johnson at a Parachuting for Parkinson's event at the BIR, when she was done she said "thanks for making me feel like a kid again."

"... My instructor, Joe, was not only a lot of fun, and really good at getting through to us newbies. He was also incredibly respectful and understanding of why I was there, and why I wanted to go through the AFF courses, even though I'd never jumped static-line or tandem before. While it took all my nerve to jump, I knew I was in good hands with Joe at my side. The overwhelming exhilaration and mind-blowing adrenaline rush of free-fall were just the beginning! The serenity and phenomenal perspective granted by the canopy ride...life altering in the best possible way. Getting to see a Bald Eagle soaring around beneath my feet* was just the icing on the cake. ..." Michael

"... Joe you are awesome and Jessy loved the whole experience. She has been speechless ever since and all smiles. She now wants to jump by herself. You're an awesome instructor and inspirational. The video is priceless and I would recommend the edited version to all who jump. To be able to recap the whole experience to re-live it, over and over, is well worth the money..." Jeannie

"OH my god!! Thank you guys so much!! Words cannot explain how i feel about this!! I had the most amazing time ever, it was by far the best thing i have ever done in my whole life! My friends and I had a blast and we've already planned our next jump for August and we were bringing lots of people! ...and Joe, although you teased me ha-ha you made it a really fun time too! Again, thank you so much for the time of my life and I'll see you all again soon!" Jessica

"AWESOME!!! I actually have no words for what I experienced - well maybe a few! I have been excited for months to do this and the day was finally here! My instructor, Joe, totally rocked! He kept me laughing from start to finish starting with his "motivational speech" in the beginning, to telling me the parachute "should" open to giving me one of the best experiences of my life so far!! I had absolutely NO concerns about jumping attached to Joe because even though we joked a lot before we jumped, he was nothing but professional during the jump. ... Thanks Joe - you were amazing!!!" Eryn

"Thank you for the time of my life! ... My tandem instructor was none other than Joe Johnson - wow! What a great guy - funny from the get go and he has a way of making you feel like it will all be juuuust fine - which it was! The jump was exhilarating and the landing was so smooth - at least for me - not sure what Joe thought of my dead weight on the land - but he smiled so it must not have been too much of a killer! ..." Julie

"Thank you so much for the wonderful experience of skydiving! It is an experience I will never forget. It was amazing to get to do flips while free falling ... I would especially like to thank my instructor, Joe, he was awesome." Holly

"Let me just say THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! This was the most exhilarating experience my husband and I've ever had! Joe Johnson and John Polk did an amazing job on instructing us and helping us to feel comfortable with our first jump experience. The feeling when you jump out of the plane and the 60 second free fall cannot be explained, but it's a feeling you'll never forget!! The parachute ride down was very calm and just amazing! We were able to take some great pictures for a life time of memories! Thank you also to everyone else who helped our friends enjoy their first experience as well and expect all of us plus some back to do it again next year!!!" Aretina and Bill

"... Plummeting at 120 miles per hour does feel a lot like swimming. That was by far my favorite part of the skydive. The minute went by fast but it was one of the most amazing feelings I've ever had in my life. It is the closest thing to being able to fly. I loved the feel of the cool air rushing by. The sky was a beautiful blue and the white puffy clouds were everywhere. My only regret was that I was not able to dive into one of them. Joe did an amazing job at making me feel more at ease. He really helped to make the experience more fun. ..." Brian

"It was absolutely fantastic!! Jumpin' Joe Johnson was very professional and knows what he's doing. Although I felt nervous at first, Joe put me at ease by his professionalism and knowledge of skydiving. I just knew I was in good hands and could relax and enjoy the ride. Thanks Joe! I haven't stopped talking about my skydive or showing my DVD and pictures. ..." Ty

"... This was the coolest thing I've ever done. I had so much fun I can barely wipe the smile off my face days later. The only scary part is that once the door opened, I wasn't scared at all. Joe making me laugh and making fun of me the entire time may have been the reason. He is so awesome, made me feel completely safe and at ease the entire time. He'll forever be my hero for making such an amazing experience that much better. ..." Melanie

"... My tandem master was Joe and might I say what a great guy ... he made my experience even better... I felt totally safe ... although not sure if it was Joe or my Superman thong ... maybe a combination of both? Either way I felt safe and confident! and Joe's sick jokes actually settled my nerves :) Thanks Joe! ..." Mary

"... Crazy Joe was an awesome tandem master. He made the experience very enjoyable with his humor. I have shown the video multiple times and everyone cannot believe how cool it is. I definitely would recommend purchasing a video. The whole experience was the best thing I have ever experienced. The freefall: AMAZING and the drift to the land was very serene..." Kim

"John and Joe rocked! The jump was absolutely INCREDIBLE ... definitely the most exciting thing we have ever done! Thanks for making sure we made it out of the plane :) Might have to be making another trip out there soon-thanks again for the best time EVER!" The Jennifer's in the green shirts :)

"... I had a blast jumping with Joe Johnson. You guys definitely know what you are doing. It was a life changing experience for both my dad and myself and can't wait to come back and do the accelerated free-fall for my next jump, you guys had me hooked from the moment I stepped out of the plane. It's definitely an indescribable experience I think everyone should experience........it was priceless and one of the best things I have ever done in my life! Thanks again Joe you were awesome, can't wait to jump again! ..." Shannon & David